Top Ten Tuesday- Most recent additions to my book collection

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is TTT-NEW.png

 I always ask Santa for a sackful of book vouchers every Christmas with a variable degree of success, but Santa was generous this Christmas. This meant I could go wild and  experiment by buying a few books that I have read about on book twitter that is a little out of my normal comfort reading zone. So, there is a YA, some sci-fi romance, a murder mystery, and a hardcore fantasy in my latest book haul. I look forward to reading all these books.

The Red Monarch by Bella Ellis

Emily Bronte is one of my favourite authors, so I had to by any  book where she solves a crime  with her literary sisters.

The Brontë sisters’ first poetry collection has just been published when Anne receives a letter from her friend Lydia. Lydia has eloped with a young actor and following her disinheritance, the couple been living in poverty in London. Harry has become embroiled with a criminal gang and is in terrible danger after allegedly losing something very valuable that he was meant to deliver to their leader. The desperate and heavily pregnant Lydia has a week to return what her husband supposedly stole, or he will be killed. She knows there are few people who she can turn to in this time of need, but the sisters agree to help Lydia, beginning a race against time to save Harry’s life.

Winter Orbit by Everina Maxwell

I saw this science fiction romance on another TTT list of best book of 2021 and thought I would give this a read as it had been on my radar a while but wasn’t sure if the romance would put me off.

When tragedy befalls Imperial Prince Taam, his Thean widower, Jainan, is rushed into an arranged marriage with Taam’s cousin, the disreputable Kiem, in a bid to keep the rising hostilities between the two worlds under control.
But when it comes to light that Prince Taam’s death may not have been an accident, and that Jainan himself may be a suspect, the unlikely pair must overcome their misgivings and learn to trust one another as they navigate the perils of the Iskat court, try to solve a murder, and prevent an interplanetary war… all while dealing with their growing feelings for each other. (less)

These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong

A retelling of Romeo and Juliet s definitely out of my comfort zone but I have heard such good things about this book.

The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the tune of debauchery.
A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city helpless in the grip of chaos. At the heart of it all is eighteen-year-old Juliette Cai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud heir of the Scarlet Gang—a network of criminals far above the law. Their only rivals in power are the White Flowers, who have fought the Scarlets for generations. And behind every move is their heir, Roma Montagov, Juliette’s first love…and first betrayal.

Absynthe by Brendan Bellecourt

I had become a little bored with steampunk but this science-fiction story set in the 1920’s has sparked my interest again.

In his sci-fi debut, Bellecourt explores an alternate roaring 20s where a shell-shocked soldier must uncover latent telepathic abilities to save himself and the people around him.

The City of Tears by Kate Mosse

This is my first physical copy of a book I have received for review and I’m so excited to add this to my book collection.

The second part of the Burning Chambers series where we follow Minou and her family in 16th century France through the turbulent War of Religions

Midnight in Everwood by M.A Kunziar

I picked this hardback up in the waterstones sale, it not usually my kind of book but who can walk away from that cover.

A spell-binding retelling of The Nutcracker, filled with enchanted toys, decadent balls, fierce feminine friendships and a forbidden romance. For fans of The ToymakersCaraval and The Bear and the Nightingale.

May Day by Josie Jaffrey.

I won a twitter giveaway but I did get to choose the book I wanted and I chose May Day- its tagline hooked me good.

If the murderer you’re tracking is a vampire, then you want a vampire detective. Just maybe not this one.

Selin Ascends by Josiah Bancroft

I managed to fill my waterstone’s loyalty card with all the books I bought with my vouchers and of course I redeemed it straight away with a free book. I have seen Josiah Bancroft’s mentioned a few times on twitter but I wasn’t sure if this was for me. But why not take a chance with a free book!

The Tower of Babel is the greatest marvel in the world.

Soon after arriving for his honeymoon at the Tower, the mild-mannered headmaster of a small village school, Thomas Senlin, gets separated from his wife, Marya, in the overwhelming swarm of tourists, residents, and miscreants.

Senlin is determined to find Marya, but to do so he’ll have to navigate madhouses, ballrooms, and burlesque theaters. He must survive betrayal, assassins, and the long guns of a flying fortress. But if he hopes to find his wife, he will have to do more than just endure.

This quiet man of letters must become a man of action.

Tales from the Loop by Simon Stalenberg

This isn’t technically my book but I’m still excited to see it added to our household book collection.  This was a Christmas gift to the other half, but I love the quirky story and the amazing artwork in this book.

Are any of these books on your list?

Please leave a link to your TTT, so I can take a peek at your list.

Thanks for visiting.

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Most recent additions to my book collection

  1. I don’t think I’ve heard of any of these. I know a lot of people love fantasy fiction though so I’m guessing some of these will have popular following. Also the Nutcracker one does sound interesting. 🙂 Thanks a bunch for visiting Finding Wonderland on this week.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment