Top Ten Tuesday- Top Ten Books I recommend the most

It’s another Tuesday and another Top Ten. This week it’s the books I recommend the most

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.

This  week is a hard one. How do I narrow down my recommendations to ten!

The Lymond Chronicles ( review here) by Dorothy Dunnett

This historical fiction series features an intriguing antihero, complex plotting, historical detail and great overriding arcs.

  • Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Prachett

Some of the terminology may be a little dated but the book remains one of the most hilarious books out there.

  • The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

I recommend these books to teenagers or older kids who have fallen out of reading reading and it never fails.

  • The Dirk Gently Detective agency by Douglas Adams

I reread this book a lot, and the cleverness of the humour and the sci-fi elements never cease to amaze me.

  • The House of Niccolo ( review here) By Dorothy Dunnett

I don’t think this is as good as the Lymond chronicles but these books still have all the elements that make Lymond- a complex hero, romance,historical detail and the longest arc.

  • Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

This parallel London book is full of whimsy,danger and feel-goodness- a book a recommend to people when they want to dip their toes in fantasy

  • The Chimp Paradox/The Hidden Chimp by Steve Peters

These books are great in teaching grown-ups and children how  to control their anger aka inner chimp.

  • His Dark Materials by Phillip Pullman

These books manage to combine so much physics and religion.

  • The Other Boleyn Sister by Phillipa Gregory

This is the book that got me hooked on historical fiction and is the book I recommend to people if they wanted to try the genre

  1. Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie

When I think of interesting and thought provoking sci-fi this is the book I would recommend when anyone thinks of sci-fi as just being spaceships and dogfights.

Thank you for reading

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Top Ten Books I recommend the most

  1. Ancillary Justice is one of my favorite 10 books of all time. I love love love that book, esp. the audiobook. Lymond Chronicles? But of course. And you’ve made me want to read The Chimp Paradox right away!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have the entire Lymond Chronicles waiting on my bookshelf but I’ve yet to read it. I never see many readers mention it, so it’s great to see it here. I’m about to do a reread of The Hunger Games series before I pick up Ballad. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My husband loves Terry Pratchett and Douglas Adams, but I have yet to try them. Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier.

    Pam @ Read! Bake! Create!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment