Advocatus by A R Turner -blog tour and book review

I’m so pleased to be part of the Write Reads Tour for Adovactus by A R Turner- fantasy with humour.

Advocatus tells the tale of Felix, a junior lawyer with one last case before he can strike out on his own.
His client? A terrifying magical warlord accused of, amongst other horrifying crimes, two counts of Attempted Genocide (and six counts of Theft). His plea? Innocent, of course! All in a day’s work for Felix.
Psychic frogs, downtrodden goblins, time-travelling wizards, and a whole host of other magical defendants become his caseload as Felix begins trying to make a name for himself as a successful lawyer in a world rife with sorcery.
The biggest case of his life: defending humanity in front of Habeus, the God of Justice himself. Lose, and it’s all over. Not just for him, but for the whole of mankind.

Review

I received a copy of this book for a free and unbiased review

 I was intrigued by the blurb for Advocatus by A R Turner and I have to say it was different from my usual read.

It took a while for me to get into the story but it was a funny and humorous book with an unusual concept- a lawyer fighting for the future of humanity while dealing with the bureaucracy of court, unreliable witnesses and temperamental judges.

The book is peppered with interesting and unique characters such as floating witching heads, grannies who prefer to be cats, misunderstood defendants and of course the lawyers themselves

The book is told from the lawyer Felix’s point of view and with notes taken from his journal highlighting some of his cases from the past. I have to admit I could have just happily just read his journal entries featuring cases such as the man who came back from the future to steal from himself, the hero who accidentally killed the person who he was supposed to have saved and my favourite the Granny who just wanted to be a cat are some of the fascinating stories on offer.

My only negative was that I found the the story was a little hard to follow at times

I would recommend this book to anyone who just wants to escape into a wonderfully described fantasy with plenty of humour

Perfect for fans of

Douglas Adams, Terry Prachett

One thought on “Advocatus by A R Turner -blog tour and book review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s