A Catalogue of Catastrophe by Jodie Taylor- Blog Tour/Book review

I loved this fun romp through time in A catalogue of Catastrophe by Jodie Taylor.

Genre: Science-fiction, time travel

Series: Chronicles of St Mary ( Book 13)

Source:  Thank you for my copy NetGalley and publishers Headline for a free and unbiased opinion

Publication Date: April 2022

When all is lost. When everything is ending. When there’s no hope. When you can’t win. That’s when you attack.
Punching well above their weight, Max and Markham set out to bring down a sinister organisation whose roots might be firmly embedded in the future but whose focus is the past.
Max’s focus is staying alive long enough to reunite with Leon and Matthew – alternately helped and hindered by St Mary’s. Who aren’t always the blessing they like to think they are.
And that’s not all. Are the effects of constantly leaping around the timeline beginning to make themselves felt? Is Max going mad? Or are the ghosts of the past finally catching up with her

Review

I seem to be in a bit of a time-travel phase at the moment but who doesn’t enjoy a bit of time-travel bedlam and there is a lot of fun-filled chaos in A Catalogue of Catastrophe.

This is the 13th book in the Chronicles of StMary but what I particularly enjoy about this series is that you can jump in randomly at any book and quickly pick up on what is happening. I haven’t read all the books in this series but have read a couple of books out of synch.

The book is told from the first-person point of view from the time-travelling fugitive historian who is struggling physically and mentally from all the travelling to the past and future ( sometimes in one day) and to add to her woe, a team from the future is trying to kill her.

The book is hilarious with plenty of action and twists. The world-building both in the past and the future is fascinating. I particularly love the idea of people walking to generate credits for their energy bills in the future (which I could see happening at some point). As always there are interesting nuggets about important historical events.

So, I would recommend this book to anyone who loves fun-filled books with plenty of action.

Perfect for Fans of

The Rise and Fall of DODO  and Master of The Revels ( review here) by Neal Stephenson and Nicole Galland.

One thought on “A Catalogue of Catastrophe by Jodie Taylor- Blog Tour/Book review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s