Ocean’s Echo by Everina Maxwell – Book review

I enjoyed this science fiction featuring two very different people packed with action, intrigue and romance. Here is my review of Ocean’s Echo by Everina Maxwell

Rich socialite, and walking disaster Tennalhin Halkana can read minds. Tennal, like all neuromodified “readers,” is a security threat on his own. But when controlled, readers are a rare asset. Not only can they read minds, but they can navigate chaotic space, the maelstroms surrounding the gateway to the wider universe.
Conscripted into the military under dubious circumstances, Tennal is placed into the care of Lieutenant Surit Yeni, a duty-bound soldier, and the son of a notorious traitor. Tennal can read minds, Surit can influence them. Like all other neuromodified “architects,” he can impose his will onto others, and he’s under orders to control Tennal by merging their minds.
Surit accepted a  promotion-track request out of desperation, but he refuses to go through with his illegal orders to sync and control an unconsenting Tennal. So they lie: They fake a sync bond and plan Tennal’s escape.
Their best chance arrives with a salvage-retrieval mission into chaotic space. And among the rubble is a treasure both terrible and unimaginably powerful.
Tennal and Surit can no longer abandon their unit or their world. The only way to avoid life under full military control is to complete the very sync they’ve been faking.
Can two unwilling weapons of war bring about peace?

Review

I loved Winter’s Orbit ( review here ) by Everina Maxwell, so I was so pleased to have my request to review Ocean’s Echo approved on Net Galley.I have to say I enjoyed Ocean’s Echo more than Winter’s Orbit-this had more science-fiction and action with just the right amount of romance for me.

I received a copy of this book for a free and unbiased opinion

The book is told from the points of view of Tennal and Surit, two very different men who are both neuro-modified due to their parents being experimented on. They both have to work together to first deceive the Cavalry and then save the world. The two men start off as co-conspirators then friends with romance slowly and realistically developing between them.

Tennal was my favourite- he had some traits of my favourite anti-hero Lymond- sarcastic, flirty, questionable morals, annoying to his family but with his own moral compass. The women in the book are deliciously morally grey and complicated.

The author has built an intriguing world with a detailed military and civilian hierarchy. The political and military intrigue was gripping with plenty of twists and turns ( but at the time of writing was nowhere as twisty as the political situation in the UK). The science-fiction elements while interesting were a little confusing to start with but made a little more sense as the story went on.

The ending was perfect, tying up all loose ends but perhaps leaving enough for a sequel or another book set in this world.

Content warning

Brainwashing, control,drug use

Perfect for Fans of

Winter’s Orbit, The Amberleigh Dossiers

Advertisement

4 thoughts on “Ocean’s Echo by Everina Maxwell – Book review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s