Empire of Sand by Tasha Suri – book review

That’s another book off my #beatmybacklog challenge. I really enjoyed this Mughal inspired fantasy.Here is my review of Empire of Sand by Tasha Suri, the first book of Ambha.

A nobleman’s daughter with magic in her blood. An empire built on the dreams of enslaved gods. Empire of Sand is Tasha Suri’s captivating, Mughal India-inspired debut fantasy.
The Amrithi are outcasts; nomads descended of desert spirits, they are coveted and persecuted throughout the Empire for the power in their blood. Mehr is the illegitimate daughter of an imperial governor and an exiled Amrithi mother she can barely remember, but whose face and magic she has inherited.
When Mehr’s power comes to the attention of the Emperor’s most feared mystics, she must use every ounce of will, subtlety, and power she possesses to resist their cruel agenda
Should she fail, the gods themselves may awaken seeking vengeance…

Review

Empire of Sand by Tasha Suri has been sitting on my kindle for about 2 years now. I bought this after I enjoyed reading the second book of the Ambha series,Realm of Ash.

 Mehr  is the point of view character who struggles with her mixed heritage – a complicated blend of Ambhan ( conservative and traditional) amd Amrithi ( magical and free) . She has managed to blend in polite Ambhan society until she finds she has the ability to use dreamfire and attracts the attention of the Maha and his devoted mystics.

I loved the Indian and Mughal inspired world with vivid descriptions of the noble houses, the separation of men and women, the mystics and the dances Mehr and her husband are forced to do ( based on a classical Indian dance Bharatanatyam ). The conflict between the Emperor’s persecution and discrimination against the Amrithi and his need for the Amrithi’s magic to keep his people safe was fascinating.

I enjoyed Mehr battle with the Mystics and the ways she tried to rebel against the Maha. It was realistic as Mehr has to use her intelligence and not her magic to do this.

I’m not a big fan of romance, so the passionate romance between Mehr and her arranged marriage husband felt a like it had to be there as part of the genre. But that could be just me.

Perfect for fans of

The Jasmine Throne, or any who enjoys fantasy in non-European worlds

One thought on “Empire of Sand by Tasha Suri – book review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s