The York King by Amy License – Blog Tour.

I’m so pleased to be part of the Random Things Tours Blog tour for The York King by Amy License which continues Edward the Fourth’s story.

Genre: Historical Fiction

Series: Volume two of the House of York Trilogy. Read the review of book One Son of York here

Source: Lume books and Random Things Tours

During the early years of his reign, Edward IV of York battles to bring peace and stability to the country, as Henry Beaufort, Duke of Somerset, raises support in the north, attempting to return the Lancastrian king, Henry VI, to the throne.
The Earl of Warwick pursues a marriage alliance with France, determined to bring about a friendship between the two countries and suppress support for Lancaster.
Edward meets Elizabeth Woodville, daughter of a squire, and marries in a secret ceremony. With verbal agreements broken, friendships damaged and old divisions reappearing, Edward finds himself facing new enemies much closer to home.

Review.

This is the second book in the House of York Trilogy but you don’t need to have read the Son of York to read the York King,

I couldn’t put The York King down until I finished reading the last page despite the fact I knew exactly what was going to happen. The plot races along with plenty of action, drama and romance. It is hard to believe this is history and not epic fantasy.

In The York King, we get to hear from Cecily, Elizabeth and Eleanor, the women in Edward’s life but the story is mainly told from Edward’s point of view. The author tells Edward’s story sympathetically but without hiding his shortcomings particularly his womanising, He continues to remain a charismatic character and you can see why he was a popular King.

Edward’s passion for Elizabeth Woodville is beautifully written as is the fallout from his impulsive decision to marry her which leads to Warwick eventual defection.

The battles scenes form an important part of the book and brings to life how awful it all must have been for the men involved.

Even though I know how Edward’s story will end , I cant wait to read the final book in this trilogy.

I received a copy of this book for a free and unbiased opnion

Content Warning

Stillbirth (off-page), violence

Perfect for fans of

Phillipa Gregory, Anne O Brien and anyone who likes epic fantasy.

About the author

Amy Licence is an historian of women’s lives in the medieval and early modern period, from queens to
commoners. Her particular interest lies in the late fifteenth and early sixteenth century, in gender relations,
queenship and identity, female orthodoxy and fertility and childbirth. She is also interested in modernism,
specifically Woolf and the Bloomsbury Group, Picasso and Post-Impressionism. She has been a teach for over
twenty years. Amy has written for The Guardian, The TLS, The New Statesman, BBC History, The Huffington
Post and contributes regularly to BBC History Magazine.

8 thoughts on “The York King by Amy License – Blog Tour.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s