Age of Ash by Daniel Abraham-Book Review

Here is my review of Age of Ash -an epic fast-paced fantasy by Daniel Abraham – a book I couldn’t put down.

Source :NetGalley

Series : The Kithamar Trilogy

Publication date 17th of February

Kithamar is a center of trade and wealth, an ancient city with a long, bloody history where countless thousands live and their stories unfold.

This is Alys’s.

When her brother is murdered, a petty thief from the slums of Longhill sets out to discover who killed him and why.  But the more she discovers about him, the more she learns about herself, and the truths she finds are more dangerous than knives. 

Swept up in an intrigue as deep as the roots of Kithamar, where the secrets of the lowest born can sometimes topple thrones, the story Alys chooses will have the power to change everything.

REVIEW

I received a free copy for a free, unbiased, and honest opinion

I was really excited to read this book partly because the author is one half of James S. A Corey who created the complex world of The Expanse and I wasn’t disappointed.

The author’s writing is lyrical and lush and bring to life the seediness, the culture the bustle of the slum like Longhill. The story is a little slow to start off with, but I liked that as it gave me time to enjoy the world of Kithamar which plays an important role literally in the overall story.

The story is told from several points of view, the main ones being Alys a common thief and Sammish her friend who is secretly in love with her. The fact that they are girls is no way an impediment to the paths they choose once Alys brother is killed unexpectedly- a fact I found refreshing compared to a lot of other fantasies set in similar worlds. Alys becomes a violent enforcer for Andomaka, a mysterious royal and Sammish finds herself helping a mother looking for a lost son. The two plots collide in spectacular way at the end of the book.

This book focusses on how grief can affect a person. All Alys actions are driven by her overwhelming grief for her brother and her difficulty in coping with this.

There are no cliffhangers at the end of the book but the story for the next book is neatly set up.

Content warning

Murder of a child, missing child, grief for a sibling and son

Perfect for fans of

The City We Became

Summary

I enjoyed the book despite the slow start and can’t wait for the next book in the series.

3 thoughts on “Age of Ash by Daniel Abraham-Book Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s